How F***ing Good Was This Week’s Game of Thrones?

This past Sunday’s Game of Thrones (A Man Without Honor) may have been my favorite episode to date. I intentionally stopped reading the series after the first book, because the show has been so good, and each week I am reminded that I made the right choice.

This episode was Lannister driven, with AWESOME performances given by the loath-able family…And the big surprise: I’m not even talking about Tyrion. Truth be told, he was only in the episode for about 3 minutes. No, the scenes I am talking about revolve around two specific story lines.

How good is the budding relationship between Tywin Lannister and Arya Stark? I mean, granted, it has to end badly…but, for right now they have this game of mental chess going, each of them a few steps ahead of what they are letting on…and they seem to be growing a bit of a mutual respect for one another. I wonder, is this why Arya has not given “Tywin Lannister” as one of the three names, so far?…Perhaps we have a bit of Stockholm Syndrome forming? I am eager to find out, either way.

Kingslayer

Also, we saw the return (not that he’s literally gone anywhere…) of “Kingslayer” Jaime Lannister. And WHAT an epic return. Every minute with the male Lannister twin was captivating to the point I had chills. For serious, Peter Dinklage better up his game if he plans on keeping that “fan favorite” status up. Especially, with such a wonderful, evil, scary performance as Nikolaj Coster-Waldau delivered last night. This was truly, a different Jaime.

 

Now, to me, these two story lines could have padded the entire episode, I would have been satisfied. But WAIT, there’s more…Theon Greyjoy shows us he has gone completely off the deep end, and we officially can’t wait for him to get a sword in the face. Also, Jon Snow let’s his frank and beans get him into trouble beyond the wall…And, are we ALL just freely talking about Jaime and Cersei boning, now? Jaime said it to Kate, Cerseai said it to Tyrion, and nobody even seemed surprised that it was mentioned? WTF?

For reals, the ENTIRE episode was a hit. So much so, that I felt the need to come and geek out over it as soon as possible. The only exception to the “hour od awesome” was Daenerys and her annoying “English Sookie Stackhouse” character. I hate her. But, I love Qarth…go figure.

Here’s the preview for next week’s episode (Prince of Winterfell):

5 thoughts on “How F***ing Good Was This Week’s Game of Thrones?

  1. It was a good episode…strange though how different the show is turning out to be from the books. I don’t really understand why they feel the need to really change it, especially if the show is gonna go on to a 3rd and 4th season, etc….

    Having said that…I actually love to hate the Lannisters, especially Cersei….

    • I am sure its a combination a) The second book (from what I’ve heard…I stopped reading it) is pretty devoid in happenings, particularly in the Rob Stark department. Not enough to fuel an entire season. and b) the “The Walking Dead” method, of providing something new for those who have read the series…I don’t know…

      Also, the third book will be broken into seasons 3 & 4, so they are obviously looking to hold onto this train as long as possible.

      • I wouldn’t say that the 2nd book lacked exciting events, but, yeah, the 3rd book is definitely more interesting and action-packed. I can understand why they’d want to stretch the 3rd book into seasons 3 and 4 of the mini-series.

Leave a Reply

